Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society is the recognized pre-eminent body of independent scholars, researchers and creative people in Canada whose Fellows comprise a collegium that can provide intellectual leadership for the betterment of Canada and the world. The Royal Society is comprised of three Academies, Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, as well as the College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists.

Election to Fellowship in the Society is the highest academic accolade in Canada that is available to scientists and scholars.  The Fellowship comprises four categories: Honorary Fellows. Regularly Elected Fellows, Specially Elected Fellows and Foreign Fellows. Fellows are elected to one of the three Academies. A separate election is held for membership in the College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists.

Baldwin, Barry (Emeritus, Classics/Greek & Roman Studies, 1997)

Behie, Leo (Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, 2008)

Bell, Allan (Music, 2007)

Bennett, Susan (Literature, 2016)

Bercuson, David (History, 1988)

Birss, Viola (Chemistry, 2011)

Bruton, Len (Emeritus, Electrical and Computer Engineering, 1994)

Cairncross, J. Gregory (Clinical Neurosciences, 2009)

Cameron, Eric (Art, 2008)

Campbell, Finley (Emeritus, Geology and Geophysics, 1971)

Cannon, Elizabeth (Geomatics Engineering, 2004)

Chivers, Tristram (Chemistry, 1991)

Cooper, Barry (Political Science, 1993)

Cross, James (Veterinary Medicine, 2015)

Dilger, Walter (Emeritus, Civil Engineering, 1994)

Eagle, David (Music, 2013)

Eaton, Curtis (Economics, 2010)

Eggermont, Jos (Emeritus, Psychology, 2014)

Fedigan, Linda (Anthropology, 2005)

Ferris, John (History, 2017)

Flanagan, Tom (Political Science, 1996)

Frank, Arthur (Sociology, 2005)

Friedenreich, Christine (Oncology, 2019)

Ghali, William (Department of Medicine, 2017)

Ghannouchi, Fadhel (Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2010)

Harder, Lawrence D (Science, 2016)

Herzog, Walter (Kinesiology, 2013)

Hollenberg, Morley (Pharmacology & Therapeutics, 2003)

Jones, G. Melvill (Emeritus, Clinical Neurosciences, 1979)

Jullien, Graham (Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2009)

Katzenberg, Anne (Archaeology, 2003)

Kauffman, Stuart (Molecular Biology and Genetics, 2008)

Kubes, Paul (Physiology and Biophysics, 2009)

Lachapelle, Gerard (Geomatics Engineering, 2002)

Lancaster, Peter (Emeritus, Mathematics and Statistics, 1984)

Langford, Cooper (Emeritus, Chemistry, 1991)

Larter, Stephen (Geosciences 2012)

Layzell, David (1998)

Lees-Miller, Susan (Faculty of Medicine, 2010)

Mahoney, Kathleen (Law, 1997)

Martin, Renae (Emerita, Medical Genetics, 2008)

McCauley, Edward (Biological Sciences, 2008)

Meynell, Hugo (Philosophy, 1993)

Nielsen, Kai (Emeritus, Philosophy, 1988)

Penelhum, Terence (Emeritus, Religious Studies, 1975)

Pharis, Richard (Biological Sciences, 1988)

Piers, Warren (Chemistry, 2006)

Pittman, Quentin (Hotchkiss Brain Institute, 2010)

Proud, David (Medicine, 2012)

Prusinkiewicz, Przemyslaw (Computer Science, 2014)

Randall, Stephen (History/Political Science, 1996)

Rangayyan, Rangaraj (Science, 2016)

Robertson, R.E. (Emeritus, Chemistry, 1965)

Salahub, Dennis (Chemistry, 1998)

Sanders, Barry (Physics and Astronomy, 2017)

Santamaria, Pere (Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, 2017)

Shrive, Nigel (Science, 2016)

Stebbins, Robert (Emeritus, Sociology, 1999)

Stys, Peter (Clinical Neurosciences, 2013)

Taylor, Scott (Economics, 2014)

Van Herk, Aritha (English, 1997)

Veale, Warren (Emeritus, Physiology & Biophysics/Kinesiology, 1988)

Vogel, Hans (Biological Sciences, 2012)

Wall, Anthony (French, Italian and Spanish, 2009)

Wallace, John (Medical Sciences, 2008)

Walsh, Michael (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 2009)

Wardlaw, Norman (Emeritus, Geology and Geophysics, 1998)

Weiss, Samuel (Hotchkiss Brain Institute, 2009)

Yong, Voon-Wee (Clinical Neurosciences, 2014)

Zamponi, Gerald (Physiology and Biophysics, 2008)


Dixon, Gordon (Microbiology and Biochemistry, 1970, Deceased)

Krouse, Howard (Earth Sciences, 1994, Deceased)

Krouse, Roy (Physics and Astronomy, 1994, Deceased)

Lederis, Karolis (Pharmacology & Therapeutics, 1987, Deceased)

Parkinson, Dennis (Biological Sciences, 1983, Deceased)

Ziegler, Tom (Chemistry, 1997, Deceased)

Aritha van Herk (English): Lorne Pierce Medal, 2012
Morley Hollenberg (Physiology & Pharmacology): McLaughlin Medal, 2011
Peter Tieleman (Biological Sciences): Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry, 2008
Arthur Frank (Sociology): Abbyann D. Lynch Medal in Bioethics, 2008
David Bercuson (History): J. B. Tyrrell Historical Medal, 2002
Warren E. Piers (Chemistry): Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry, 2001
Roy Krouse (Physics & Astronomy): Miroslaw Romanowski Medal, 1999
Susan M. Bradley UCalgary/University of South Wales (Chemistry): (NSERC) The Alice Wilson Award, 1992
Gordon H. Dixon (Medical Biochemistry): The Flavelle Medal, 1980

Barnabe, Cheryl (Department of Medicine, 2018)

Bergerson, Joule (Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, 2017)

Biernaskie, Jeff (Comparative Biology and Experimental Medicine, 2019)

Borgland, Stephanie (Physiology & Pharmacology, 2017)

Drolet, Julie (Social Work, 2019)

Elliott, Charlene (Communication and Culture, 2016)

Emery, Carolyn (Kinesiology, 2014)

Hill, Matthew (Cell Biology and Anatomy, 2017)

Hill, Josephine Mary (Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, 2014)

Jette, Nathalie (Clinical Neurosciences, 2014)

Kattan, Lina (Civil Engineering, 2019)

Kirton, Adam (Paediatrics, 2018)

Smith, Eric (Clinical Neurosciences, 2016)