Contact

Research Services Office

Physical location:

SMART Technologies Building
3636 Research Road NW

Mailing and courier address:

Research Services 
University of Calgary 
2500 University Drive NW 
Calgary, AB  T2N 1N4

Contact:

Phone: (403) 220-6354 
Fax: (403) 289-0693 
Email: rsoadmin@ucalgary.ca

8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Research Services Office

  1. Executive Director, Research Services

    Dr. Robert I. Thompson

    rthompso@ucalgary.ca

  2. Director, Institutional Programs

    Kirsten Exall

    (403) 210-6756
    kexall@ucalgary.ca

  3. Manager, Administrative Services

    Darlene Hiles

    (403) 210-9560
    hiles@ucalgary.ca

  4. Director, Grants, Awards and Ethics

    Tiago Lier

    tlier@ucalgary.ca

  5. Administrative Assistant

    Kim Campbell

    (403) 220-6354
    campbek@ucalgary.ca

    rsoadmin@ucalgary.ca

  6. Senior Legal Counsel

    Glenda Summers

    glenda.summers@ucalgary.ca

    Neil Campbell

    (403) 220-3791 
    neil.campbell@ucalgary.ca

General inquiries rsogrants@ucalgary.ca

 

Tiago Lier, Director, Grants, Awards and Ethics

(403) 220-5647
tlier@ucalgary.ca

  1. Internal Grants and Training Programs

     

    Hector MacIntyre, Specialist, Internal Grants and Training Awards (on leave)

    (403) 210-5405 
    hector.macintyre@ucalgary.ca

     

    Cameron Vanderway, Senior Research Grants Officer

    (403) 220-4495
    crvander@ucalgary.ca

     

    Chao (Summer) Li, Internal Grants Coordinator

    chaosummer.li@ucalgary.ca

     

    Joel Teindl, Internal Grants Coordinator

    (403) 210-7107 
    joel.teindl@ucalgary.ca

  2. Prizes and Awards

     

    Vacant, Specialist, Research Awards

    (403) 210-7224 

     

    Erin O’Toole, Specialist, Research Awards, Prizes & Chairs

    (403) 220-2109
    erin.otoole@ucalgary.ca

  3. External Grants

     

    Emma Koiston, External Grants Manager

    (403) 220-5647 
    ekoiston@ucalgary.ca

     

    Anna LeMarquand, Senior Research Grants Officer (CIHR)

    asamuels@ucalgary.ca
     

    Tempest Emery, Research Grants & Agreements (NIH) Officer

    (403) 210-6044  
    taemery@ucalgary.ca

     

    Danielle Demiantschuk, Research Grants and Partnership Officer (NSERC)

    danielle.demiantschu@ucalgary.ca

     

    Gary Markoski, Research Grants Officer 

    (403) 210-9815
    gmarkosk@ucalgary.ca 

     

    Lisa Singh, Research Grants Officer

    (403) 220-3016  
    singhl@ucalgary.ca

  4. Project Set-up and Facilitation

    Taylor Dechief, External Grants Coordinator 

    (403) 220-2108 
    taylor.dechief@ucalgary.ca

    rsogrants@ucalgary.ca

Institutional Programs is the point of contact for CFI, JEI (formerly EDTT), CRC, NFRF, CAIP, CERC, Western Economic Diversification, Genome Canada, and large Tri-Council grants. 

General inquiries ipd@ucalgary.ca

 

Kirsten Exall

(403) 210-6756
kexall@ucalgary.ca

  1. Process Facilitation

     

    Caroline Morrison, Process Facilitation Manager

    (403) 210-3912  
    c.morrison@ucalgary.ca

     

    Winnie Low, Senior Institutional Programs Officer

    (403) 220-3787  
    winnie.low@ucalgary.ca

     

    Luke Ng, Senior Compliance Analyst

    (403) 220-3782
    tllng@ucalgary.ca

     

    Charlotte Mitchell, Institutional Programs Officer

    (403) 210-6971  
    charlotte.mitchell@ucalgary.ca

     

    Vacant, Institutional Programs EDI Advisor

    (403) 210-9647

  2. Research Facilitation

     

    Faye Muschiol, Research Facilitation Specialist

    (403) 210-6976
    flewis@ucalgary.ca

     

    Chris Roy, Research Facilitation Specialist

    (403) 220-3786
    cmroy@ucalgary.ca

     

    Ovo Adagha, Senior Analyst, Research Chairs Programs

    (403) 210-7336
    osadagha@ucalgary.ca

     

    Ryan Pike, Senior Project Analyst

    (403) 210-7851
    rnpike@ucalgary.ca

     

    Alison Turner, Project Analyst

    (403) 220-6778
    aturner@ucalgary.ca

     

    Kari Larson, Project Analyst

    (403) 220-2461
    kari.larson@ucalgary.ca

     

    Alex Bilodeau-Bouchard, Project Analyst

    (403) 220-6976
    alexandre.bilodeaubo@ucalgary.ca

     

    Anna Wang, Senior Infrastructure Funding Program Officer

    (403) 220-6731
    wangja@ucalgary.ca 

CFREB Inquiries cfreb@ucalgary.ca
CHREB Inquiries chreb@ucalgary.ca

 

Joan Fennell, Research Ethics & Compliance Manager

(403) 220-7938
jfennell@ucalgary.ca

 

  1. Ethics and Compliance

     

    Lauren McDougall, Senior Research Ethics Analyst (CFREB)

    (403) 220-6289
    lcmcdoug@ucalgary.ca

     

    Ashley Krecsy, Senior Research Ethics Analyst (CHREB)

    (403) 210-3927 
    ackrecsy@ucalgary.ca

     

    Jessica Lee, Research Ethics Analyst

    (403) 210-6421
    jessica.lee1@ucalgary.ca

     

    Maryam Tahir, Research Ethics Analyst

    (403) 210-9863 
    maryam.tahir@ucalgary.ca

     

    Abena Twumasi-Smith, Research Ethics Analyst

    (403) 220-8640
    twumasismith.abena@ucalgary.ca

     

    Sheila Gajda, Research Ethics Coordinator

    (403) 220-2297 
    sheila.gajda@ucalgary.ca

General legal inquiries legaladm@ucalgary.ca
General Intellectual property ipadmin@ucalgary.ca

 

Glenda Summers, Senior Legal Counsel

glenda.summers@ucalgary.ca

 

Neil Campbell, Senior Legal Counsel

(403) 220-3791 
neil.campbell@ucalgary.ca

  1. Legal and Intellectual Property

     

    Christopher Chow, Agreements Manager

    (403) 220-3784 
    chowc@ucalgary.ca

     

  2. Legal and Intellectual Property

     

    General legal inquiries legaladm@ucalgary.ca
    General Intellectual property ipadmin@ucalgary.ca

     

    Marissa Montgomery, Contracts and Compliance Officer
    mlmontgo@ucalgary.ca

     

    Kirstyn Dillon, Contracts Specialist

    (403) 210-9101 
    kirstyn.dillon@ucalgary.ca

     

    Suzanne Lush, Contracts Specialist

    (403) 210-9101 
    suzanne.lush@ucalgary.ca

     

    Catherine McCleary, Contracts Specialist

    (403) 210-7841
    catherine.mccleary@ucalgary.ca

     

    Nicole Lannard, Contracts Specialist

    nicole.lannard@ucalgary.ca

 

MacKinley Darlington, Manager, Knowledge Engagement

(403) 220-3785
mgdarlin@ucalgary.ca

 

Alyse Pearce, Knowledge Engagement Coordinator

(403) 220-4283
alyse.pearce@ucalgary.ca

 

Rand Al-Hashmy, Communications Coordinator, Knowledge Engagement

(403) 220-5008
ralhashm@ucalgary.ca

General Inquiries irst@ucalgary.ca

 

Amber Bedard, Manager, Indigenous Research Support Team

(403) 220-4762
amber.bedard@ucalgary.ca

 

Alexandra Kanters, Indigenous Research Ethics and Process Specialist

(403) 210-8196
alexandra.kanters1@ucalgary.ca

 

Kimberly Van Patten, Research Coordinator

kmvanpat@ucalgary.ca

 

Shayla Scott, Research Coordinator (Health)

shayla.scott@ucalgary.ca

 

Shikha Nayyar, Research Data Analyst

(403) 220-8997
shikha.nayyar@ucalgary.ca

 

Marcelo Suarez, Research Analyst

marcelo.suarez@ucalgary.ca

 

 

Funding program contacts

If the program you are interested in is not listed, or you are not sure who to contact, email rsogrants@ucalgary.ca to be directed to the appropriate grants officer.

Lisa Singh, Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-3016  
singhl@ucalgary.ca

Vacant, Research Prizes and Awards Specialist

(403) 220-7224 
 

Alberta Innovates Health Solutions - Summer Research Studentships and Heritage Youth Research Summer (HYRS) Program

Cameron Vanderwey, Senior Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-4495
rsotrainee@ucalgary.ca

Lisa Singh, Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-3016  
singhl@ucalgary.ca

Tempest Emery, Research Grants & Agreements (NIH) Officer

(403) 210-6044  
taemery@ucalgary.ca

Anna LeMarquand, Senior Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-2715  
asamuels@ucalgary.ca

Gary Markoski, Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-2108
gmarkosk@ucalgary.ca

Lisa Singh, Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-3016  
singhl@ucalgary.ca

Cameron Vanderwey, Senior Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-4495
rsotrainee@ucalgary.ca

 

Tempest Emery, Research Grants & Agreements (NIH) Officer

(403) 210-6044  
taemery@ucalgary.ca

Danielle Demiantschuk, Research Grants & Partnerships Officer

(403) 210-5459
danielle.demiantschu@ucalgary.ca

Cameron Vanderwey, Senior Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-4495
rsotrainee@ucalgary.ca

 

Lisa Singh, Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-3016  
singhl@ucalgary.ca

Gary Markoski, Research Grants Officer

(403) 220-2108
gmarkosk@ucalgary.ca